Notes

I got the piece I wanted to post today up to around 1300 words, with 2/3rds of the outline left to fill, and realized I wouldn’t be able to finish it in time.That’s okay, though, because I just finished a piece of music; so now I can take the good ol’ musical coward’s way out once more.

While I’d wanted to do vocal tracks this year, I’m finding that more challenging than anticipated. I wrote the lyrics, I wrote the melody, and then when it came time to actually record some singing I hit a wall. I have a very hard time speaking into microphones, to the point where it’s kind of a phobia, and while I was hoping that this would be something I could just kind of power through in the moment it’s clear that I’ll have to go for a more circumspect approach. Towards that end, and for other reasons, I’m going to try to get into game streaming, particularly my playthrough of Dark Souls 3. I’ll be doing test streams this week: I’ve already tested my video and it’s working decently as long my internet connection holds (it gets a bit finicky), but I’ll need to get my audio set up, something I’ve been kind of dragging my heels on (for some reason). Once I get things set up in a way I’m comfortable with, I’ll start announcing streams on twitter. In the meanwhile I suppose I’ll be doing more instrumental tracks.

I’ve also been working on getting a new site set up. This is kind of a tricky decision, though, since as much as I’d like to get a more proper and permanent set up through which to promote the game and my work, I already have a fair number of followers on here, and am concerned that they won’t make the jump to a new site. Alternately, I could double down on this version of the site, put together some proper front pages, tidy everything up and make it look nicer and more professional, and then pay to have wordpress remove their part of the domain name and remove all the ads. That might be a better solution, but probably wouldn’t result in as nice a site and might cost me some fine control. I haven’t decided, but probably by end of month I’ll get a proper domain set up, on one service or another.

Anyway, sorry there’s no piece this week, but next week’s will probably be a doozy. By my standards anyway, since I tend to usually keep things pretty short.

 

Leave a Reply

